A Reiki lineage traces the line of teaching and in Usui Reiki should be an unbroken and verifiable line back to the founder Mikao Usui. This is a very useful way to know exactly what sort of Reiki you have been/will be taught. Today there are hundreds of types of "Reiki" some originating from Usui sensei, some not. Prospective Reiki students should consider asking the Reiki teacher for information about their lineage, training and teaching experience. 

Louise now practises and teaches Usui Shiki Ryoho, her lineage is;

Mikao Usui

Chujiro Hayashi

Hawayo Takata

Paul Mitchell

Louise Riley

Students are given a copy of their teacher's lineage for their records. The only names that should appear on a lineage chart are the Reiki Master Teachers.

The following are the Master lineages Louise learnt previously. Note- Karuna Reiki is not a Usui type of Reiki and is included for the sake of completeness.

2018- Usui Shiki Ryoho Reiki Master taught by Paul Mitchell who is one of the 22 Reiki Masters taught by Hawayo Takata. Hawayo Takata was the successor to Chujiro Hayashi and Chujiro Hayashi the successor to Mikao Usui.

2012 -Komyo Reiki Do Shinpiden (formerly Kai)- founder Inamoto Hyakuten describes his style as a Hayashi style Reiki, he developed this style in 1998. Louise was taught by the founder Inamoto Sensei.

2012- Karuna - a non Usui Reiki - founded  by William Lee Rand in 1995 .

2008 -  William Lee Rand style- Usui/Tibetan Independant Reiki Master. This is a combination of Usui Shiki Ryoho(through Furumoto in 2 lineages) and Raku Kei (Arthur Robertson- Tibetan influences)  put together by Rand in 1989 and initially called Usui/Tibetan Reiki. Louise was taught by Betty and Bob Thuan, who were taught by William Rand in 1998.